Beijing Volume One

Joyside / Scoff

Released: 2007
Format: 7″ vinyl
Tracks: 02 songs


1. Neptune’s Child

Side B / The SCOFF

1. My Rock ‘n’ Roll

$7.00 USD

Sold Out

Beijing Volume One is the first release by the now-defunct Suyin Records, a UK-based label that specialized in releasing garage-rock from China and Japan. Released in 2007, it captures two of Beijing’s best rock n’ roll bands at their peak. The A-side, dedicated to Johnny Thunders and Stiv Bators, is Joyside’s “Neptune’s Child” from their fourth album Booze at Neptune’s Dawn, released on Maybe Mars Records. It’s a melancholy Rolling Stones/Lords of the New Church-esque ode to heartache and lost love, crooned out in Bianyuan’s characteristic drawl.

The B-side is a track from the short-lived but seminal garage band, the Scoff. “My Rock ‘n’ Roll” is taken from their unreleased debut album, In the Name of the Lost Prince… The track’s raw energy embodies the spirit of the Scoff, a powerful live band known for their aggressive live shows.

Taken together, these two tracks, along with the accompanying sleeve photos, capture the energy and excess of the Beijing garage-rock scene as it was on the verge of exploding.


Bian Yuan – Vocals
Red (Xiao Hong) – Guitar
Liu Hao – Bass
Guan Zheng – Drums

Produced by Cao Cao and Joyside


Leo Lee – Vocals
Congpai – Guitar
Liu Yang – Bass
Feng Zhe – Drums

Released by